Indicative criteria

Indicative criteria

Our framework is underpinned by carefully researched definitions and principles of quality teaching. These definitions and principles are expressed through seven criteria. For each criterion, the framework provides examples of practice and concludes with clearly stated expectations of levels of performance and sources of evidence that could be used to demonstrate that an individual academic meets that criterion.

The seven indicative criteria are:

1. Design and planning of learning activities

2. Teaching and supporting student learning

3. Assessment and giving feedback to students on their learning

4. Developing effective learning environments, student support and guidance

5. Integration of scholarship, research and professional activities with teaching and in support of student learning

6. Evaluation of practice and continuing professional development

7. Professional and personal effectiveness