Guide to implementation

Key implementation stages

The project team identified 12 key stages to guide the process of developing teaching criteria and standards, and embedding these into institutional processes. These stages were used by trial universities across Australia. Case studies from some of these universities are provided here. Download the key implementation stages worksheet here.

Key stages in the process

  1. Identifying the area of focus
  2. Describing current practice at your institution
  3. Scoping of your university’s context and political imperative
  4. Sourcing existing documents and policies and identifying key stakeholders and organizational structures (promotions committee, academic board, etc.)
  5. Confirming existing institutional teaching criteria
  6. Drafting institutional expectations of practice and standards
  7. Identifying policy implications and determining the best approach for embedding criteria and standards into policy and practice. Reviewing existing policy documents and identifying inconsistencies and gaps
  8. Identifying and engaging key stakeholders
  9. Developing a strategy for engagement and implementation
  10. Evaluating what has been achieved
  11. Assessing the next steps: What else must be done to ensure quality teaching is embedded in practice?
  12. Documenting anticipated and unanticipated outcomes